Preface

I never thought about writing a mystery. In fact, as I grow older and dustier I’m finding there are many things that I thought were beyond my capabilities. I started to change my mind about what I could and couldn’t do when I turned 50 and I tied my own shoes for the first time. Yes, I’m a late bloomer.

I’m undertaking the task of writing a short mystery novella here on the Philbertosophy blog. We’ll call it a “blognella.” My intention is to write it in installments and possibly add an illustration here and there. This is an exercise to help me prepare my chops for more grandiose future projects.

You see, I’m not really a “writer,” I’m a guy that likes to write. Big difference. I’m fortunate that many real writers sometimes frequent this humble blog. I would like to encourage these talented (and gracious) individuals to chime in with their thoughts, advice and suggestions. In fact, I’d like to encourage any and all readers to pipe up with their two cents, even if its to opine that I’d be better off sticking with the cartoons.

So, you’ve been forewarned. Look for the first chapter of “Frayed Knot: The Hangman’s Tale” very soon. You may recognize the characters, I’m going to get as much mileage out of those seedy sods as I can.

Thank you one and all.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Blognella (My Blog Novella)

7 Comments on “Preface”

  1. Tom Says:

    If a large blog fell on Phil in the forest and no one was there would he make a sound? A question for the ages.

  2. Erin Says:

    “The Sounds of Philness” – I think it was a Simon and Garfunkel tune. Or should have been.


  3. As a matter of fact, it went like this (Sung to the tune of “Sounds of Silence.”)

    “Hello, Philbert my old friend,
    I’ve come to sedate you once again
    It will keep you from acting so creepy
    And if we’re lucky you’ll get real sleepy
    Then the hairs left upon your gnarly head
    Will be shed
    From your scalp of starkness.”

  4. Uncle E Says:

    I am very much looking forward to this. Sorry, no punch line or sarcastic comment needed this time.

  5. Kelly Says:

    No pressure, El Fontaine. Write the stuffing out of it. Have fun. There’s nothing else.

  6. Budd Hodges Says:

    Phibert dude…I’m looking foward to your mystery on this “blognella”toons cyber space thingie. It’s bound to be a spectacular. Write on Phil. We will be watching you produce your newest baby on the becoming famous “Hittler’s Titties”.

  7. czygyny Says:

    Ooo, ooo, can I be a VILLIAN, can I, huh? can I? can I?

    I’ll be reading in earnest (Earnest is my ‘reader’ servant-I am much too busy to read, personally) at your first gritty, witty pennings.

    Only three weeks I have been sequestered from reality, and it has taken a couple of views to ‘get’ the pun in the heading of your blognella. Yikes, the posies are taking over my brain cells.


Leave a Reply

