The Ol’ iPod Shuffle (Because You Really Want To Know)

Let’s play a little iPod Roulette…

Spin the wheel and up pops…

Mother-In-Law by Ernie K-Doe: Wow, The Laws Of Chance dug pretty deep in the ol’ archives for this classic! I think this is on a Billboard compilation of #1 Hits (1961)… or at least that’s what it says on the little glowing screen.

Spin…

For Free by Joni Mitchell: Joni is one of the Rock Era’s greatest songwriters… and this is one of her better songs.

Spin…

The Fly by U2: A track from Achtung Baby… big whoop… I prefer Ernie K-Doe. OK, this will launch me into one of my foaming rants (it doesn’t take much to set me off these days). Every time the band U2 is mentioned it reminds me of a SportsTalk host named Colin Cowherd. Cowherd is one of those brash, yammering “personalities” who opines on the headlines in the Sports World on ESPN Radio/TV. I used to have him on the car radio as background noise. Once in awhile his meandering monologues takes him into the world of pop culture and entertainment, which is pretty much where the American Sports Scene resides anyway. One day he ventured astray from the topic of Tom Brady’s haircut and splashed down on the subject of U2 (whom he adores). Now, don’t get me wrong, I love U2. Terrific band (maybe a tad pretentious, but in a good way) and I think I have just about everything they’ve ever done in my library, but this Cowhered joker went too far.  This shrill yodeler wasn’t satisfied to wax poetic on the merits of Baltimore’s zone coverage, he felt it necessary to postulate that the Irish band, U2 ,was a better, more influential and important band than… wait for it… more important than… get this… more influential than… gasp!… THE BEATLES!!! Yeah, you heard me right. More important than The Beatles. Even Bono in all his self-important hubris wouldn’t dare to make such a statement. A better band than The Beatles? Really? In the seven (more or less) years The Beatles recorded together they virtually re-invented Rock and Roll. Their growth as musicians and songwriters reflected the coming of age of an entire generation… from Please Please Me to Abbey Road their creative output is astounding. You can listen to U2’s first album back-to-back with their latest and pretty much hear the same band. Not so The Beatles. Anyway, sometimes a person can say something so utterly stupid that anything they ever say from that point forward has to be dismissed as the ravings of a syphilitic lunatic. You know, like Rick Santorum or Sarah Palin. Sheesh… as Bugs Bunny would say, “What a maroon!”

Thanks for letting me get that off the ol’ sternum.

Spin…

Shuffle Your Feet by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club: Any band that calls their album, “Howl”, is all right with me.

Spin…

Expecting To Fly by Neil Young: From the album, Sugar Mountain, Live at the Canterbury House, 1968. An acoustic version of the song that as a studio track from Buffalo Sprinfield Again was buried in the lush ornamentation popular in that day. At its core, a very nice little song.

Spin…

Come Sail Away by Styx: I have this on my iPod??? Really??? OK, I have to throw the damn thing away now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Thoughts & Musings

4 Comments on “The Ol’ iPod Shuffle (Because You Really Want To Know)”

  1. ianbalentine Says:

    I just knew you were a Styx-head. Benda was right!


  2. Ian, actually I have some Styx, Foreigner, Boston and other ridiculously bad stuff in a Playlist entitled, “Crapola”, that I use when making “mix” discs to throw in for a little comic relief. Benda is right about a few things, but not about Styx.
    Looking forward to your Guest Blog!!!


Leave a Reply

